Type in any movie or show to find where you can watch it, or type a person's name.



Limited Series
1 Season
12 Episodes
The Rise of the Great Powers is a 12-part Chinese documentary television series produced by CCTV. It was first broadcast on CCTV-2 from 13 to 24 November 2006. It discusses the rise of nine great powers: Portugal, Spain, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Japan, Russia, and the United States. The documentary "endorses the idea that China should study the experiences of nations and empires it once condemned as aggressors bent on exploitation" and analyses the reasons why the nine nations rose to become great powers, from the Portuguese Empire to American hegemony. The series was produced by an "elite team of Chinese historians" who also briefed the Politburo on the subject." In the West the airing of Rise of the Great Powers has been seen as a sign that China is becoming increasingly open to discussing its growing international power and influence—referred to by the Chinese government as "China's peaceful rise." The state-run People's Daily reported that each of the 12 episodes of The Rise of the Great Powers ran at the prime time 9:30 p.m. slot, and each show lasted 50 minutes, totaling 600 minutes. The program included interviews with noted historians and academics, including Paul Kennedy, who wrote the influential book The Rise and Fall of the Great Powers, and Joseph Stiglitz, who won a Nobel Prize in Economics. Political leaders, such as former French president Valéry Giscard d'Estaing and former Malaysian prime minister Mahathir bin Mohamad, were also interviewed."
大国崛起 (2006) on IMDb

Where to watch

At the moment we can't seem to find any streaming sources for 大国崛起 in USA.
Available in 0 other countries.
See something wrong? Let us know

My Progress 0%

0/12 episodes
Update Progress

Latest Episodes

Season 1 Episode 2
 Episode: Episode 2
November 14th 2006
Season 1 Episode 3
 Episode: Episode 3
November 14th 2006
Season 1 Episode 4
 Episode: Episode 4
November 14th 2006
Season 1 Episode 5
 Episode: Episode 5
November 14th 2006
Season 1 Episode 6
 Episode: Episode 6
November 14th 2006
Season 1 Episode 7
 Episode: Episode 7
November 14th 2006
Season 1 Episode 8
 Episode: Episode 8
November 14th 2006
Season 1 Episode 9
 Episode: Episode 9
November 14th 2006
Season 1 Episode 10
 Episode: Episode 10
November 14th 2006
Season 1 Episode 11
 Episode: Episode 11
November 14th 2006


Created By: 任学安

Featured Comments/Tips

None of your fellow streamers have left comments/tips yet. Leave one?

Featured User Reviews

None of your fellow watchers have a review yet. Write Review

You might also like...

Streaming sources for Cooking Master Boy
Cooking Master Boy
Back to Top